Just a few weeks after it was founded, we can proudly say that the LexTech Institute is a great success within the University of Neuchâtel, and it is already growing!

The LexTech Institute is a research center created with the aim of offering researchers from the University of Neuchâtel and its partners an environment that is favorable to the study of the challenges related to the development of digital technologies. Researchers at the LexTech Institute are grouped into Labs representing communities of people who share common interests.

Today, two new Labs have been added to the first three created when the LexTech Institute was founded.

The “Creative IP Lab” is dedicated to intellectual property rights in an “open source” or “creative commons” free licensing environment. Research in this Lab will not only focus on the development of new economic and knowledge-sharing models, but also on the ownership of rights to creations produced by autonomous digital entities (such as robots and artificial intelligence).

The “Digital Economy Lab” analyzes the relationships between digital platforms that offer products and services and their users. Its major challenges include defining the role of digital economy stakeholders in a rapidly changing environment, as new monopoly positions evolve, and protecting the interests of users whose personal data has acquired a market value.

With the creation of these two new Labs, the LexTech Institute strengthens the links between law and IT and continues to work to define the appropriate legal framework to guide the development of technology.

The launch of the Creative IP Lab and the Digital Economy Lab is also an opportunity to welcome researchers from the economic and social sciences interested in analyzing the digital transformation of our society from a multidisciplinary perspective.

We look forward to integrating these two new Labs and welcoming the colleagues who join us into the LexTech Institute’s research community!

Pascal Felber and Florence Guillaume, founders of the LexTech Institute

Creative IP Lab

Digital Economy Lab

Auteur(s) de cette contribution :

Page Web | Autres publications

Professor at the University of Neuchâtel | Head of the research group on Complex Systems in the Computer Science department, which focuses on dependable, concurrent, and distributed computing | Founder of the LexTech Institute

Page Web | Autres publications

Professor of Private International Law at the University of Neuchâtel | Research focus on legal issues of digitalization (blockchain, platforms, AI, digital integrity) | Founder of the LexTech Institute

Quelques semaines seulement après avoir vu le jour, le LexTech Institute rencontre un franc succès au sein de l’Université de Neuchâtel et il s’agrandit déjà !

Le LexTech Institute est un centre de recherche créé dans le but d’offrir aux chercheurs de l’Université de Neuchâtel et ses partenaires un environnement propice à l’étude des défis liés au développement des technologies numériques. Les chercheurs du LexTech Institute sont regroupés en « laboratoires » représentant des communautés de personnes qui partagent des intérêts communs.

Aujourd’hui, deux nouveaux laboratoires viennent compléter les trois premiers créés lors de la fondation du LexTech Institute.

Le « Creative IP Lab » est consacré aux droits de propriété intellectuelle dans un environnement de licences libres de type « open source » ou « creative commons ». Ses thématiques de recherche portent non seulement sur le développement de nouveaux modèles économiques et de partage des connaissances, mais également sur la titularité des droits de créations produites par des entités numériques autonomes (robots, intelligence artificielle).

Le « Digital Economy Lab » analyse quant à lui les relations entre les plateformes numériques qui offrent des produits et services, et leurs utilisateurs. Ses grands défis sont notamment de définir le rôle des acteurs de l’économie numérique dans un environnement en pleine mutation, au gré de l’évolution de nouvelles positions monopolistiques, et de protéger les intérêts des utilisateurs dont les données personnelles ont acquis une valeur marchande.

Avec la création de ces deux nouveaux laboratoires, le LexTech Institute renforce ainsi les liens entre le droit et l’informatique et continue d’œuvrer à la définition du cadre légal approprié pour guider le développement de la technologie.

Le lancement du Creative IP Lab et du Digital Economy Lab est également l’occasion d’accueillir des chercheurs issus des sciences économiques et des sciences sociales intéressés à analyser la transformation numérique de notre société dans une perspective pluridisciplinaire.

Nous nous réjouissons de pouvoir intégrer ces deux nouveaux laboratoires et d’accueillir les collègues qui nous rejoignent au sein de la communauté de chercheurs du LexTech Institute !

Pascal Felber et Florence Guillaume, fondateurs du LexTech Institute

Creative IP Lab

Digital Economy Lab

Auteur(s) de cette contribution :

Page Web | Autres publications

Professor at the University of Neuchâtel | Head of the research group on Complex Systems in the Computer Science department, which focuses on dependable, concurrent, and distributed computing | Founder of the LexTech Institute

Page Web | Autres publications

Professor of Private International Law at the University of Neuchâtel | Research focus on legal issues of digitalization (blockchain, platforms, AI, digital integrity) | Founder of the LexTech Institute