Building on the architecture of smart contracts, Decentralized Autonomous Organizations (DAOs) are starting to emerge from the blockchain environment. These new forms of organized entities are similar to companies and they allow participants to manage resources in a decentralized manner thanks to predefined governance rules inscribed on a series of smart contracts deployed on a blockchain.

Before a DAO can undertake an economic activity in Switzerland, it is necessary to determine whether this type of entity can have legal effects in Switzerland. The answer to this question depends on the recognition of the DAO in the Swiss legal order in order to grant it legal existence. While the recognition of a foreign DAO governed by the law of a State does not raise particular legal issues, DAOs that only exist on the Internet and that haven’t been constituted according to the law of a State upset existing legal principles, which generates legal uncertainty as to their existence.

Few legal scholars have studied the recognition in the Swiss legal order of DAOs existing only on the Internet. However, the common practice is to try and apply existing legal concepts known in Swiss law to those entities. This operation is complex as Swiss law has currently no rule specifically governing DAOs. Some authors recommend subjecting them to the company law regime by trying to fit them into one of the forms of company existing in Swiss substantive law, such as the company limited by shares (SA) or investment companies (SICAF and SICAV). According to other authors, there is no other choice but to qualify DAOs existing only on the Internet as simple partnerships as they do not meet the formal or material requirements of other forms of companies. This amounts to considering that DAOs are only a set of contractual relationships. In our opinion, rather than attempting to apply the rules of Swiss company law to DAOs, it is preferable to consider DAOs as foreign companies and to recognize them as such using the tools provided by private international law. The advantage of this preferred pathway is to allow DAOs to exist in their current construct, while recognizing their legal effects in the Swiss legal order.

However, a strict interpretation of the Private International Act (PILA) leads to a dead end for DAOs that exist only on the Internet as, by law, a foreign company must be validly constituted under the law of the State it is governed by in order to exist in Switzerland (Art. 150 and 154 PILA). The theory of functional equivalence, which recommends considering a substantive or formal requirement intended to guarantee legal protection as being met when a computer system makes it possible to replace this requirement in an equivalent manner, provides a possible solution. Based on this theory, the solution we suggest is to recognize the existence of an online jurisdiction governed by its own code. This new legal construction makes it possible to consider the code of a DAO as being its governing law and the digital space as the State from which this law originates. We thus offer a means of granting legal existence to DAOs that were not created according to the law of a State. As such, this type of DAO can be recognized in Switzerland as a foreign company with rights and obligations.

The full developments of this new legal construct can be found in the following paper: Riva Sven, Decentralized Autonomous Organizations (DAOs) in the Swiss Legal Order, Yearbook of Private International Law, Volume 21 (2019/2020), p. 601-638.

Author(s) of this contribution:

Web Page | Other publications

PhD student and research assistant at University of Neuchâtel | Research focus on legal issues of digitalization (blockchain, platforms, AI, digital integrity)

Tirant profit de l’architecture des smart contracts, les Decentralized Autonomous Organizations (DAOs) (organisations autonomes décentralisées) commencent à émerger de l’environnement de la blockchain. Ces nouvelles formes d’entités sont similaires aux entreprises. Elles constituent un mode d’organisation sociale permettant aux participants de gérer les ressources de l’entité de manière décentralisée grâce à des règles de gouvernance prédéfinies inscrites sur une série de smart contracts déployés sur une blockchain.

Avant qu’une DAO ne puisse entreprendre une activité économique en Suisse, il est nécessaire de déterminer si ce type d’entité peut déployer des effets juridiques en Suisse. La réponse à cette question dépend de la reconnaissance de la DAO dans l’ordre juridique suisse afin de lui accorder une existence juridique. Si la reconnaissance d’une DAO étrangère régie par la loi d’un État ne soulève pas de problème juridique réellement nouveau, les DAOs existant uniquement sur Internet sans avoir été constituées dans l’ordre juridique d’un État bouleversent les principes juridiques existants, ce qui génère une insécurité juridique quant à leur existence.

Les rares juristes s’étant intéressés à la question de la reconnaissance dans l’ordre juridique suisse des DAOs existant uniquement sur Internet ont tenté de leur appliquer les concepts juridiques connus en droit suisse. Cette opération est complexe en raison de l’absence de règles régissant spécifiquement les DAOs en droit suisse. Certains auteurs préconisent de les soumettre au régime du droit des sociétés en essayant de les faire entrer dans l’une ou l’autre des formes de société existant en droit matériel suisse, telles que la société anonyme (SA) ou les sociétés d’investissement (SICAF et SICAV). Selon d’autres auteurs, il n’y aurait pas d’autre choix que de qualifier les DAOs existant uniquement sur Internet de sociétés simples, dès lors qu’elles ne remplissent pas les exigences formelles ni matérielles des différentes formes de sociétés. Cela revient à considérer que les DAOs ne sont qu’un ensemble de relations contractuelles. Plutôt que de tenter d’appliquer aux DAOs les règles du droit suisse des sociétés, il est préférable de considérer que les DAOs sont des entreprises étrangères et de les reconnaître en tant que telles grâce aux outils prévus par le droit international privé. L’avantage de cette voie est de permettre aux DAOs d’exister dans leur structure actuelle, tout en reconnaissant leurs effets juridiques dans l’ordre juridique suisse.

Cependant, une interprétation stricte de la Loi sur le droit international privé (LDIP) conduit à une impasse pour les DAOs existant uniquement sur Internet car, selon la loi, une société étrangère doit être valablement constituée en vertu du droit de l’État selon lequel elle est organisée pour exister en Suisse (art. 150 et 154 LDIP). La théorie de l’équivalence fonctionnelle, qui préconise de considérer une exigence de fond ou de forme ayant pour vocation de garantir une protection juridique comme étant remplie lorsqu’un système informatique permet de remplacer cette exigence de manière équivalente, fournit une piste de solution. Sur la base de cette théorie, nous proposons de reconnaître l’existence d’un ordre juridique en ligne (online jurisdiction) régi par son propre code. Cette nouvelle construction juridique permet de considérer le code d’une DAO comme étant la loi qui la régit et l’espace numérique comme étant l’État duquel émane cette loi, offrant ainsi un moyen d’accorder une existence juridique aux DAOs qui n’ont pas été créées par référence à une loi étatique. A ce titre, ce type de DAO peut être reconnu en Suisse comme étant une société étrangère titulaire de droits et obligations.

Les développements complets de cette nouvelle construction juridique peuvent être consultés dans la publication suivante : Riva Sven, Decentralized Autonomous Organizations (DAOs) in the Swiss Legal Order, Yearbook of Private International Law, Volume 21 (2019/2020), p. 601-638.

Auteur(s) de cette contribution :

Page Web | Autres publications

PhD student and research assistant at University of Neuchâtel | Research focus on legal issues of digitalization (blockchain, platforms, AI, digital integrity)